BREAKING: ESPN College Gameday To Broadcast Live From Jackson State University For Boombox Classic

0
247
-- ADVERTISEMENT --

ESPN’s College Gameday, widely heralded as the gold standard for sports media programming, is headed to Jackson State this Saturday. The show will be broadcasted live from Jackson State as the College Gameday crew preview the action headed into week 9 and shine a special spotlight on the campus and team cultures of both Jackson State and Southern University. The announcement comes on the heels of Jackson State’s homecoming, as they beat Big South competitor Campbell University 22-14. This is the second time that College Gameday has hosted a show on an HBCU campus since their 2008 broadcast on the campus of Florida A&M University for their game against then MEAC opponent Hampton University.

Good Morning America (also a Disney/ESPN program) also featured special coverage from Jackson State University during their homecoming week, as Texas Southern alumnus and host Michael Strahan interacted with students on campus during the show and spotlighted the J-Settes, Sonic Boom Of The South and the Tiger football program.

The Boombox Classic, which started in 1958, is one of the most storied classics in the nation. Southern holds a 35-30 lead over Jackson State in the series. Jackson State won last year’s matchup 21-17, ending an 8-game losing streak to the Jaguars. Both Jackson State (7-0) & Southern (5-2) lead their SWAC divisions headed into this game. The teams could also face off again in the SWAC Championship should both teams win their final slate of divisional games (Jackson State plays SWAC East rival Alabama A&M on November 12th, Southern plays the Bayou Classic against SWAC West rival Grambling on November 24th).

College Gameday will be broadcasting live from Jackson State University from 8 AM-11 AM CST (9 AM-12 PM EST). The show will be broadcasted on ESPN. The game will start at 1 PM CST/2 PM EST and be streamed live on ESPN3 and broadcasted on tape delay on ESPNU at 9 PM CST/10 PM EST on Saturday following the game.

-- ADVERTISEMENT --

LEAVE A REPLY

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here